These corporations, known as mixed or joint enterprises have been established either by a special act of Parliament, for example, the Canada Development Corp. or Telesat Canada, or by letters patent or articles of incorporation, for example, Panarctic Oils Ltd. Such corporations are not listed in the schedules of the Financial Administration Act and are not subject to its general provisions.

Appendix 1 of this edition provides concise descriptions of departments, Crown corporations, boards, commissions, offices and agencies of the federal government as of April 1984.

19.5.3 Applied titles

The use of applied titles in place of the legal titles of government organizations, for example, Labour Canada, is prescribed by the Federal Identity Program (FIP) which requires the use of such titles in conjunction with symbols to ensure a consistent visual identity throughout the Government of Canada. An example of an applied title is Metric Commission Canada in place of the legal title, Preparatory Commission for Conversion to the Metric System. The titles are used on all applications of the program, for example, signs, vehicles, stationery and advertising but are not to be used on legal applications, such as contracts or documents used in court proceedings.

Treasury Board has central responsibility for the program and the policy, which is issued as part of the administrative policy manual. Each organization is responsible for implementing the policy.

19.6 Provincial and territorial governments

The former BNA Act provided for the federal union. of three British North American provinces -Canada (Ontario and Quebec), Nova Scotia and New Brunswick — into one dominion under the name Canada. The act made provision for possible future entry into Confederation of the colonies or provinces of Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island and British Columbia, and of Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory, a vast expanse then held by the Hudson's Bay Company. In 1870, the company surrendered its territories to the British Crown which transferred them to Canada. In exchange it received a cash payment from the Canadian government of £300,000, one-twentieth of the lands in the southern part, "the fertile belt", of the territory, and designated blocks of land around its trading posts. From this new territory was carved Manitoba in 1870, much smaller at its inception than now, and later, in 1905, Saskatchewan and Alberta. British Columbia entered Confederation in 1871 on condition that a railway linking it with Eastern Canada be commenced within two years. In 1873 Prince Edward Island entered the union and in 1949 Newfoundland joined.

19.6.1 Provincial governments

In each of the provinces, the Queen is represented by a lieutenant-governor appointed by the Governor General-in-Council. The lieutenant-governor acts on the advice and with the assistance of his ministry or an executive council which is responsible to the legislature and resigns office under circumstances similar to those described concerning the federal government.

The legislature of each province is unicameral, consisting of the lieutenant-governor and a legislative assembly. The assembly is elected by the people for a statutory term of five years but may be dissolved within that period by the lieutenant-governor on the advice of the premier of the province.

Sections 92, 93 and 95 of the Constitution Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c.3 and amendments) assign legislative authority in certain areas to the provincial governments.

Details regarding qualifications and disqualifications of the franchise are contained in the elections act of each province. In general, every person at a specified age who is a Canadian citizen or (in certain provinces) other British subject, who complies with certain residence requirements in the province and the electoral district of polling and who falls under no statutory disqualifications, is entitled to vote. Persons can vote in Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta at age 18 and in British Columbia at 19.

Executive councils of the provinces and the commissioner and legislative assembly of Yukon and Northwest Territories are given in Appendix 8.

Newfoundland. The government of Newfoundland has a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a house of assembly made up of 52 members. On July 10, 1981, the Honourable W. Anthony Paddon became the lieutenant-governor. The 39th legislature in the history of Newfoundland and the eleventh since Confederation, elected April 6, 1982, comprised 45 Progressive Conservatives and seven Liberals. In March 1984 party standings had changed to 44 Progressive Conservatives and eight Liberals.

Prince Edward Island. The government of Prince Edward Island consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable J.A. Doiron was sworn in as lieutenant-governor on January 14, 1980. The legislative assembly has 32 members from 16 electoral districts. Each district elects two representatives. The 56th general assembly elected September 27, 1982 consisted of 21 Progressive Conservatives and 11 Liberals; as at April 1, 1984 party standings had not changed.

Nova Scotia. The government of Nova Scotia consists of a lieutenant-governor, acting with the advice of the executive council of the province and